Source: Business Insider SA
WhatsApp could soon include an option to send a video or photo that will disappear after it was viewed once.
According to the authoritative blog WABetaInfo, which tracks the development of new WhatsApp functions, the image will expire as soon as the recipient viewed the video, GIF or photo, and leaves the chat.
WABetaInfo became aware of the planned function when it analysed the WhatsApp 184.108.40.206 beta update for Android, which was released recently and includes references for a new feature called “Expiring Media”.
WABetaInfo believes the new function will probably called “View Once”, which was how a new button on the latest update was tagged.
Users will be able to choose to send an “expiring” image, video or GIF to a contact, which can only be viewed once by the recipient.
If the recipient takes a screen grab of the image, it remains unclear whether the sender will be notified, reports the social media information hub Social Barrel .
The wildly popular social media platform Snapchat, which pioneered self-destructing messages, currently offers this functionality.
Snapchat will notify a user when another user has taken a screenshot of their photo, video, chat conversation, or Snapchat story.
“Expiring” messages will appear in a different way in the conversation, so you can easily understand that the image is going to expire, says WABetaInfo. The platform also reported that WhatsApp is planning to add a new security feature which will require fingerprints to view messages.
Both of the planned new features are still under development, with no launch date specified.