Tag: self-destruct

WhatsApp photos, videos could self-destruct soon

Source: Business Insider SA

WhatsApp could soon include an option to send a video or photo that will disappear after it was viewed once.

According to the authoritative blog WABetaInfo, which tracks the development of new WhatsApp functions, the image will expire as soon as the recipient viewed the video, GIF or photo, and leaves the chat.

WABetaInfo became aware of the planned function when it analysed the WhatsApp 2.20.201.6 beta update for Android, which was released recently and includes references for a new feature called “Expiring Media”.

WABetaInfo believes the new function will probably called “View Once”, which was how a new button on the latest update was tagged.

Users will be able to choose to send an “expiring” image, video or GIF to a contact, which can only be viewed once by the recipient.

If the recipient takes a screen grab of the image, it remains unclear whether the sender will be notified, reports the social media information hub Social Barrel .

The wildly popular social media platform Snapchat, which pioneered self-destructing messages, currently offers this functionality.

Snapchat will notify a user when another user has taken a screenshot of their photo, video, chat conversation, or Snapchat story.

“Expiring” messages will appear in a different way in the conversation, so you can easily understand that the image is going to expire, says WABetaInfo. The platform also reported that WhatsApp is planning to add a new security feature which will require fingerprints to view messages.

Both of the planned new features are still under development, with no launch date specified.

 

WhatsApp to launch new self-destruct feature

By Jasper Hamill for Metro

We’re all now wearyingly familiar with the concept that messages sent in private can be published publically and used to ruin our lives. So we’re glad to say that WhatsApp is about to give us a vital survival tool to help us through this age of cancel culture and social media mob justice.

It’s reportedly on the verge of rolling out ‘deleting messages’ which disappear after a short space of time. This means you can make off-colour jokes without fearing they will get into the hands of bullies and be used to destroy your career or get you kicked out of university.

The concept of an auto-deleting post was made famous by Snapchat, which prompted a moral panic stoked by grown-ups who were concerned young people were using the app to send nudes. Then Facebook introduced the feature in Instagram and now it’s about to grant WhatsApp fans the same superpower.

The reliable website WABetaInfo has claimed the feature is on the way and is now very close to release.

You’ll be able to choose whether posts vanish in one hour, day, week, month or year. The feature was originally called ‘disappearing messages’ but has now been renamed ‘deleting messages’.

It will work in group chats and probably one-on-one conversations as well. When these new type of messages are introduced, a new option will be introduced in group settings and the contact info sections which will allow users to switch them on and off.

WhatsApp has launched a new privacy feature which will stop you being pulled into group chats you don’t want to be a part of. The feature was rolled out to a limited number of people earlier this year but has now been officially released to all users. You can now choose who can add you to groups, letting you block dodgy people or prevent annoying friends from adding you.

WhatsApp is beefing up its privacy protections (Image: Getty) This might sound like a frivolous feature, but in fact it’s a great privacy tool because people in groups can see each other’s phone numbers.

If you can take control of who adds you into these chats, then you have an extra tool to protect your identity and make sure strange or scammy people don’t contact you as well as protecting yourself from bullies.

When you’ve updated the app, just open up settings and scroll to ‘account’, followed by ‘privacy’ and then ‘groups’. You will be able to choose who’s allowed to add you to groups, with three options available.

Select ‘everyone’ and you’re wide open whilst choosing ‘my contacts’ means only friends will be able to add you. The early version of the update allowed you to also choose ‘nobody’, which locked your account down entirely. This has now been replaced by ‘My Contacts Except’, which will let you allow only certain contacts to add you to a group.

Follow us on social media: 

               

View our magazine archives: 

                       


My Office News Ⓒ 2017 - Designed by A Collective


SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
Top