100% Design announces 2015 award winners

South Africa’s premier international design show, 100% Design South Africa, announced its 2015 Design Award Winners at a Gala Awards Evening on the night of 6 August 2015. Held at the show, the awards evening took place at the Spice Route Bar by Mia Widlake, and was attended by over 450 design industry guests.

The 100% Design South Africa 2015 Design Awards were decided by a prestigious 14-member panel of judges. This panel included publishing editors, tastemakers and influencers as well as leading local designers.

The judges were Michelle Snaddon of Real Estate magazine; Naomi Larkin of House and Leisure, Liz Morris of Condé Nast House & Garden, Bradley van den Berg of Top Billing, Sarah-Jane Buitendach of Times Media; Gary Cotterell of Ogojii; Sumien Brink and Annemarie Meintjies of Visi; Mary Jane Harris of Garden and Home; Bielle Bellingham of Elle Decoration; gallerist Monna Mokoena; product designer Richard Sparks; Daniel van der Merwe of the PPC Imaginarium; Julian McGowan of Southern Guild and Philippe van der Merwe of Tonic.

The judging process was independently audited by design champion/mentor, Lianne Burton, who facilitated the judging on behalf of 100% Design South Africa.

The judging criteria for each category were as follows:

Best Furniture Design
The judges were looking for a stylish piece of functional furniture from the residential, office or hospitality sector, whether local or international. This needed to be a new design from the last two years.

Best Lighting Design
The judges were on the hunt for an electrical lighting solution, whether local or international, which showed style and innovation. Energy-saving considerations, although not a pre-requisite, were a bonus.

Surface Design
Here, the criteria were style and/or innovation in wallpapers, wall treatments, wall coverings, fitted carpets, rugs, floor coverings, tiles, or 3D printed surfaces.

Best Stand Design
This award seeks to recognise a stand design that is eye-catching and promotes visitor interaction and engagement. The stand should add to the overall aesthetic and experience of 100% Design South Africa.

Designer of the Year
This award seeks to recognise a designer who displays excellence in their field with regards to concept, quality and design.

The following awards were announced by 100% Design South Africa Programme Director, Cathy O’Clery:


  • Best Furniture Design – Meyer von Wielligh;
  • Best Lighting Design – Laurie Wiid Van Heerden;
  • Best Surface Design – Papilio;
  • Best Textile Design – Design Team;
  • Best Product Design – Renee Rossouw;
  • Best International Design – Generation for 100% Hotel; and
  • Best Stand Design – Mungo stand and maker’s hub.

The Designer of the Year Award was announced by Cherine Leishman of Dauphin HumanDesign Group, the headline sponsor of 100% Design South Africa. The 2015 accolade went to David Krynauw.

Each of the eight winners received a bespoke 100% Design South Africa trophy designed by leading local design duo Dokter and Misses, and were gifted with wine by Spice Route.

In addition to the 2015 Design Awards, two other competition winners were announced at the Gala event – the BOS and UJ Industrial Design Department Seating Competition, and the Southern Hospitality Furniture Design Competition.

BOS collaborated with UJ’s Industrial Design Department on a seating competition to design an environmentally sustainable seating solution for BOS Brands. Monique Henderson of BOS and media partner Bielle Bellingham of Elle Decoration announced the winner. UJ student Alex Shahini took home the prize.

The Southern Hospitality Furniture Design Competition was announced in honour of Julian Gelb who is the mentor of the team behind 100% Design South Africa. Southern Hospitality develops furniture for the hospitality industry and its owner Dylan Joseph invited interior designers to submit conceptual sketches for innovative furniture designs. A winning chair design by Mirelle Patterson from Blacksmith Interior Inspiration was selected out of 250 entries.

The Gala Awards evening took place on the opening night of the show, which ran until 10 August 2015 at Gallagher Convention Centre in Johannesburg, in association with Dauphin HumanDesign Group. Held in conjunction with Decorex Johannesburg, the show promises to titillate the senses with the very best of South African design showcased alongside top international brands.

Pictured: The award winners

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on social media: 


View our magazine archives: 


My Office News Ⓒ 2017 - Designed by A Collective